EDM CHARTS’ EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW | SHAWNEE TAYLOR

6 Dec

edmcharts-interview-shawnee-taylor

US vocalist Shawnee Taylor takes some time to meet up with EDM Charts and share some details on her life and recent projects! Known for her soulful voice and large folio of vocal features with many major labels such as Defected, she is a staple in the house genre. Take a moment to find out even more about Shawnee Taylor!


Shawnee, thanks for sitting down with EDM Charts to catch up on your most recent happenings! Tell us where you’re from and how you got introduced to music and singing?

Thanks for having me! So, I was actually raised in New York City – Hells Kitchen which is where I was first introduced to house music. I grew up singing, but in private because I was always so shy.  I finally came out of my shell to start singing and recording at 17 after I won a talent show in high school. Having a musical family definitely influenced me and helped lead me to wanting to pursue a professional career in music.

What led you to specifically getting involved with the house, tech house and deep house genres?

Growing up in NYC you are exposed to so much culture. Music was literally everywhere including my house of course (having 2 musicians as parents). But it was the local underground House parties that made me fall in love with house music. I immediately felt like House Music was my home. It felt right.

What is it like working with Defected as a label?

I have always loved the music Defected has put out over the years. I was thrilled to have been featured on such a respectable label that truly respects authentic House Music.

One of your most recent tracks, “Get It Right” is featured on EDM Charts, Vol. 145 this week, and has got great exposure on Beatport and other radio shows. Describe the production and how it all came together with Harry Romero and Joeski?

Well, I have known Harry for over 10 years with us both being Subliminal Artists at some point. He and Joeski had this amazing track and the minute I heard it, I started writing… We knocked out most of the song in a day and then had Duane Harden help out with an amazing 2nd verse. It all came together flawlessly which is how we all knew it was going to be a great record. I’m proud.

What are some upcoming productions/projects you are working on?

Right now I have a few exciting projects on the horizon.. This January, Erick Morillo, Harry Romero and I team up for a release called “Devotion” that I’m super excited about.  There is also a collaboration with The ShapeShifters in the near future and I am once again working on a project with Jose Nunez.  2015 should be a great year in music and I  am looking forward to continuing to make good music for the House Music nation.

Are there any producers that you really want to collaborate with, that you haven’t done so yet?

I have been so lucky to work with some amazing producers over the span of my career and there so many I would love to work with in the future. I’m loving Patrick Topping and Gorgon City right now.  It would be incredible to work with Disclosure as well.  My list goes on..lol

Who have been role models for you in the music industry and why?

I have been influenced by so many artists in my life. Chaka Kahn and Ella Fitzgerald have always been my idols.  I have incredible respect for Loleatta Halloway, Jocelyn Brown and Lisa Fisher. They are THE voices. I am eternally grateful for their influence.

What is your hottest track/song at the moment?

Hmm, that is really tough to say. Honestly I have been in love with “Shiba San – OKAY” for quite some time.  Also loving “Green Velvet & Patrick Topping – Voicemail”.. Great record! I am just so happy House Music and Deep House are returning to the forefront.  It’s where it all started for me so it’s refreshing and very much welcomed.

Where can fans discover more about you and get your music?

I would love to hear from the fans so they can reach out here:
www.shawneetaylor.com
Instagram.com/shawneenyc
Twitter.com/shawneetaylor
Facebook.com/shawneetaylormusic
Shawnee Taylor on Beatport
Shawnee Taylor on Itunes

Leave a comment